TEAM Announces 2012 MLB Training and Designated Driver “All Stars”

TEAM Coalition Announces
2012 Alcohol Management Training and
Designated Driver “All Stars”
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition, (703) 647-7431
San Diego, Ca. (11/30/2012) – TEAM Coalition (Techniques for Effective Alcohol Management) proudly recognized this year’s training certification and designated driver program award winners at the 2012 MLB Stadium Operations meetings on Friday, November 30, 2012.TEAM Coalition is a unique alliance of professional and collegiate sports, entertainment facilities, concessionaires, stadium service providers, the beer industry, distillers, broadcasters, governmental traffic safety experts, and others working together to promote responsible drinking and positive fan behavior at sports and entertainment facilities. Click for a complete list of TEAM Coalition members.

“We’re especially proud of the breadth of the winners of our training certification awards this season,” said Jill Pepper, TEAM executive director. “To have twelve MLB Clubs earn the Prestigious Achievement award by certifying 100% of the total operations staff is truly remarkable. It is a testament to MLB’s commitment to employee training and its positive impact on fan behavior.”

In 2012, more than 46,000 employees from over 100 facilities became certified in the training. The 20,000 employees of MLB ballparks that became TEAM-certified in 2012 – including ushers, ticket takers, guest services representatives and the employees of concessionaire companies – represented nearly half of that total.

2012 TEAM Training Award Winners

(l to r) Julie Taylor, Chicago White Sox; Mike Healy, Detroit Tigers; Rob Matwick, Texas Rangers; Patrick Forsland, Minnesota Twins; Sean Brown, Cincinnati Reds; Jeff Podobnik, Pittsburgh Pirates; Shawn Rossi, San Diego Padres; Francine Hughes, Los Angeles Dodgers; Charlie Cellucci, Boston Red Sox; Jerry Crabb, Cleveland Indians; Paul LeVeau, Oakland Athletics; Larry Bowman, Atlanta Braves; Carrie Bligh, Kansas City Royals; Tony Pereira, Seattle Mariners; Kevin Kahn, Colorado Rockies
Prestigious Achievement
These award winners have made TEAM training a fundamental part of employee training. 100% of their entire employee roster are certified in TEAM training. On an annual basis, they maintain that commitment to TEAM training by certifying all new employees and recertifying those whose 3-year certification term has expired.

  • Boston Red Sox, 166 employees certified
  • Chicago White Sox, 407 employees certified
  • Cincinnati Reds, 343 employees certified
  • Cleveland Indians, 224 employees certified
  • Colorado Rockies, 96 employees certified
  • Detroit Tigers, 459 employees certified
  • Kansas City Royals, 95 employees certified
  • Minnesota Twins, 153 employees certified
  • Pittsburgh Pirates, 555 employees certified
  • San Diego Padres, 129 employees certified
  • Seattle Mariners, 145 employees certified
  • Texas Rangers, 350 employees certified
Championship Performance
These award winners certified 100% of their game day staff.

  • Atlanta Braves, 313 employees certified
  • Los Angeles Dodgers, 408 employees certified
A record-breaking 467,000 MLB fans pledged to be designated drivers during the 2012 MLB season. The Designated Drivers for the Season from the San Francisco Giants, Terri Jinkins, and the Detroit Tigers, Sue Wagner, attended World Series Games 1 and 3, respectively, as the grand prize winners of the Responsibility Has Its Rewards sweepstakes for designated drivers.At the MLB Stadium Operations meetings, the Designated Driver for the Season for the Miami Marlins, Brian Santarcangelo, was selected as the first prize winner of the Responsibility Has Its Rewards sweepstakes. Brian and a guest will attend the 2013 MLB All-Star Game and Home Run Derby at Citi Field in New York, NY home of the New York Mets.
2012 Designated Driver Award Winners

(l to r) Shawn Rossi, San Diego Padres; Russ Amaral, Arizona Diamondbacks; Mike Healy, Detroit Tigers; Matt Lehmann, Milwaukee Brewers; Hosei Maruyama, St. Louis Cardinals; Carmen Day, Toronto Blue Jays; Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition
Top Five Clubs with Most Fans Pledging to be Designated Drivers

  • St. Louis Cardinals, 59,140 designated drivers
  • Milwaukee Brewers, 48,805 designated drivers
  • Detroit Tigers, 34,665 designated drivers
  • San Diego Padres, 28,704 designated drivers
  • Arizona Diamondbacks, 22,164 designated drivers
Most Improved
Toronto Blue Jays: 988% increase from 2011 number of designated drivers
Designated Driver Challenge Winners
The Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies participated in the second year of the Designated Driver Challenge during the 2012 season. For the second consecutive year, it was the Diamondbacks who reigned victorious with over 22,000 designated drivers and placed among the top five Clubs this season. Congratulations to both Clubs and thank you to all their responsible fans!
The Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres and San Francisco Giants participated in the first year of theirDesignated Driver Challenge during the 2012 season. The San Diego Padres dominated their competition and placed among the top five Clubs this season with nearly 29,000 designated drivers. Congratulations to all three Clubs and thank you to all their responsible fans!
The Kansas City Royals and Texas Rangers participated in their first Designated Driver Challenge during the 2012 season. It was a tough battle for both Clubs all year, but the Texas Rangers won by less than 400 designated drivers. Congratulations to both Clubs and thank you to all their responsible fans!

(l to r) Shawn Rossi, San Diego Padres; Greg Green, Arizona Diamondbacks; Rob Matwick, Texas Rangers