MLB 2013 Alcohol Management Training and Designated Driver Award Winners Announced

TEAM Coalition Announces
2013 Alcohol Management Training and
Designated Driver Award Winners
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition, (703) 647-7431
Orlando, Fl. (11/13/2013) – TEAM Coalition (Techniques for Effective Alcohol Management) proudly recognized this year’s training certification and designated driver program award winners at the 2013 MLB Industry meetings on Monday, November 11, 2013.TEAM Coalition is a unique alliance of professional and collegiate sports, entertainment facilities, concessionaires, stadium service providers, the beer industry, distillers, broadcasters, governmental traffic safety experts and others working together to promote responsible drinking and positive fan behavior at sports and entertainment facilities.Click for a complete list of TEAM Coalition members.

“Alcohol management training and certification is the bread and butter of what the Coalition offers its members. No other league embraces the training program as significantly as Major League Baseball,” said Jill Pepper, TEAM executive director. “More than half of the 30 MLB Clubs earned training awards this year. That is truly remarkable. It is a testament to MLB’s commitment to employee training and its positive impact on fan behavior.”

In 2013, more than 50,000 employees from 162 facilities became certified in the training program. The 18,000 employees of MLB ballparks that became TEAM-certified in 2013 – including ushers, ticket takers, guest services representatives and the employees of concessionaire companies – represented more than one-third of that total.

2013 TEAM Training Award Winners

(l to r) Eric George, Los Angeles Dodgers; Brian Skipinski, Detroit Tigers; Eric Tobin, Philadelphia Phillies;Ashleigh Middlebrook, St. Louis Cardinals; Patrick Forsland, Minnesota Twins; Russ Amaral, Arizona Diamondbacks; Isaac Riffel, Kansas City Royals; Jeff Podobnik, Pittsburgh Pirates; Jack Webb, Baltimore Orioles; Kevin Kahn, Colorado Rockies; Paul LaVeau, Oakland Athletics; Rob Matwick, Texas Rangers; Kerry Rowland, Cincinnati Reds; Tony Pereira, Seattle Mariners; Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition; Julie Taylor, Chicago White Sox; Jared Smalley, TEAM Coalition
Prestigious Achievement
These award winners have made TEAM training a fundamental part of employee training. 100% of their entire employee roster are certified in TEAM training. On an annual basis, they maintain that commitment to TEAM training by certifying all new employees and recertifying those whose 3-year certification term has expired.

  • Chicago White Sox, 261 employees certified
  • Cincinnati Reds, 237 employees certified
  • Cleveland Indians, 271 employees certified
  • Colorado Rockies, 134 employees certified
  • Detroit Tigers, 147 employees certified
  • Kansas City Royals, 325 employees certified
  • Los Angeles Dodgers, 194 employees certified
  • Minnesota Twins, 311 employees certified
  • Pittsburgh Pirates, 220 employees certified
  • San Diego Padres, 108 employees certified
  • Seattle Mariners, 143 employees certified
  • Texas Rangers, 259 employees certified
Championship Performance
These award winners certified 100% of their game day staff in preparation for the 2013 MLB season.

  • Arizona Diamondbacks, 237 employees certified
  • St. Louis Cardinals, 470 employees certified
Excellent Performer
These award winners certified 50% of their game day staff in preparation for the 2013 MLB season.

  • Baltimore Orioles, 108 employees certified
  • Oakland Athletics, 179 employees certified
  • Philadelphia Phillies, 178 employees certified
A record-breaking 511,770 MLB fans pledged to be designated drivers during the 2013 MLB season. The Designated Drivers for the Season from the Boston Red Sox, Nancy Sullivan, and the St. Louis Cardinals, Christine Keene, attended 2013 World Series Games 1 and 3, respectively, as the grand prize winners of the Responsibility Has Its Rewards sweepstakes for designated drivers.At the 2013 MLB Industry meetings, the Designated Driver for the Season for the Colorado Rockies, Sheila Serna, was selected as the first prize winner of the Responsibility Has Its Rewards sweepstakes. Sheila and a guest will attend the 2014 MLB All-Star Game and Home Run Derby at Target Field in Minneapolis, MN home of the Minnesota Twins.
2013 Designated Driver Award Winners

(l to r) Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition; Eric George, Los Angeles Dodgers; Jennacy Cruz, Milwaukee Brewers; Brian Skipinski, Detroit Tigers; Cindy Richards, St. Louis Cardinals; Jared Smalley, TEAM Coalition
Top Five Clubs with Most Fans Pledging to be Designated Drivers
  • St. Louis Cardinals, 61,193 designated drivers
  • Milwaukee Brewers, 50,151 designated drivers
  • Detroit Tigers, 34,422 designated drivers
  • San Diego Padres, 34,380 designated drivers
  • Los Angeles Dodgers, 27,211 designated drivers
Most Improved
Los Angeles Dodgers: 887% increase from 2012 number of designated drivers
Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge Winners
The Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres and San Francisco Giants participated in the second year of their Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge during the 2013 season. The San Diego Padres repeated their victory, but the competition was much closer this season. Both the Padres and the Dodgers placed among the top five Clubs this season.
The Kansas City Royals and Texas Rangers participated in the second year of their Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge during the 2013 season. It was a tough battle for both Clubs again this year, but the Texas Rangers repeated by a margin of 1,099 designated drivers.
In the inaugural Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge between the Chicago Cubs and the Cincinnati Reds, the Reds took the trophy by having less than 100 more fans make the pledge to be designated driver.
Finally, the Cleveland Indians competed against the Minnesota Twins in the first year of their Budweiser Good Sport Designated Driver Challenge during the 2013 season. The Indians were victorious with nearly 3,000 more designated drivers than the Twins.
Congratulations to all the Clubs competing in the Challenges and thank you to all their responsible fans!

(l to r) Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition; Kerry Rowland, Cincinnati Reds; Rob Matwick, Texas Rangers; Paul Hanlon, MLB (holding the Cleveland Indians trophy); Jared Smalley, TEAM Coalition
And we want to give a very special thank you to Chris Ellis, MLB for being a phenomenal photographer.