2010 NBA Training and Designated Driver Award Winners


TEAM Coalition Announces NBA
2010 Alcohol Management Training and Designated Driver
“All Stars”
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition, jill@teamcoalition.org (703) 647-7431
(Princeton, NJ) TEAM Coalition (Techniques for Effective Alcohol Management) proudly recognized the 2010 training certification and designated-driver program award winners at the NBA Security Conference on September 23, 2010.TEAM Coalition is a unique alliance of professional and collegiate sports, entertainment facilities, concessionaires, stadium service providers, the beer industry, broadcasters, governmental traffic safety experts, and others working together to promote responsible drinking and positive fan behavior at sports and entertainment facilities. Click for a complete list of TEAM Coalition members.

“We’re especially proud of our training certification award winner – Madison Square Garden.” said Jill Pepper, TEAM executive director. “Madison Square Garden is a repeat award winner. That arena’s consistent commitment to TEAM training is what we hope all sports and entertainment facilities will aspire to achieve. Madison Square Garden sets the standard for its commitment to employee training and its positive impact on fan behavior.”

In 2010, over 5,000 employees from NBA arenas were TEAM-certified.

2010 Designated Driver Award Winners

Over 71,000 NBA fans pledged to be designated drivers during the 2009-10 season. That is a 40% increase over the 50,000 designated drivers in 2008-09. The Designated Drivers for the Season from the Los Angeles Lakers, Julie Hsu, and the Boston Celtics, Bill Fonte, attended Games 1 and 3 respectively of the 2010 NBA Finals as the grand prize winners of the Responsibility Has Its Rewards sweepstakes for designated drivers.

Top Five Teams with Most Fans Pledging to be Designated Drivers

  • Dallas Mavericks, 17,203
  • New Orleans Hornets, 6,300
  • Sacramento Kings, 5,975
  • Oklahoma City Thunder, 5,659
  • San Antonio Spurs, 4,687

NBA's Designated Driver and Training Award Winners
(l to r) Paul Padilla, Madison Square Garden; Pat Byrne, Oklahoma City Thunder; Gayle Bibby-Creme, Cleveland Cavaliers (2008-09 designated-driver program award winner); Jill Pepper, TEAM Coalition; Derek Earls, Dallas Mavericks (designated-driver program award winner for 2008-09 and 2009-10); Jack Peirson, Sacramento Kings (designated-driver program award winner for 2008-09 and 2009-10); New Orleans Hornets representative