Alcohol Service Regulations – Alabama

Alcohol Service Regulations – Alabama

Download State Information

General Regulations

21 Legal age to consume alcohol
19 Legal age to serve alcohol in an establishment holding a retail restaurant license, provided that the licensee is annually certified in the Responsible Vendor Program
0.08 Limit for Driving While Intoxicated; 0.02 for under 21
YES Dram Shop liability laws
N/A Maximum alcohol per drink, no established limit; amount of alcohol in each drink must be posted
No Limit Number of drinks served at one time, full price must be paid
No Specific Age Recommended age to check IDs; state requires ID check for anyone who looks under legal age to drink

Server Training

  • Alabama offers a state program called the Responsible Vendor Program which is voluntary for licensees.
  • It costs $35.00 per license, per year.
  • Through this program, licensees can complete an approved independent program and become registered with the state as a Responsible Vendor.
  • Participation is voluntary, but suggested.
  • The cost and length of time required for the training vary.

Acceptable Forms of ID

  • Any Valid State Driver’s License
  • Military ID
  • Valid Passport
  • Valid State ID card with photo and birth date

ID Confiscation

Alabama law does not authorize licensees to confiscate false IDs. However, some establishments have chosen to take this step. Any seized ID should be turned over to the local police department or Alabama ABC immediately.

Policies Regarding Minors

It is unlawful to serve or sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Minors are permitted in any establishment except for those holding only a lounge license. Minors are never under any circumstances allowed to legally consume or possess alcohol in the state of Alabama.

Liquor Liability

  • It is unlawful for any person, licensee, or the board, either directly or by the servants, agents, or employees of the same, or for any servant, agent, or employee of the same, to sell, deliver, furnish, or give away alcoholic beverages to any person under the legal drinking age, or to permit a minor to drink, consume, or possess any alcoholic beverages on any licensee’s premises.
  • Any violation of this provision shall be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 to which, at the discretion of the court or judge trying the case, may be added imprisonment in the county jail or at hard labor for the county for not more than six months for the first conviction.
  • Dram Shop Liability is predicated upon an unlawful act (e.g., sale to a minor) resulting in subsequent injury or death. Liability is absolute. The Hearing Commission may fine, suspend or revoke a liquor license.

Statute of Limitations

The Statute of Limitations in liquor liability incidents is two years.

Non-Alcoholic Beer and Wine

Not regulated in wet counties. “Sale” is prohibited in dry counties.

State Contact Information

Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
2715 Gunter Park Drive
Montgomery, AL 36109

Download State Information

This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.